Jump to content
School of Medicine Virginia Commonwealth University VCU Medical Center

Master’s Program

Master’s training in the School of Medicine includes:


Curriculum Department/Contact Semester Of Entry
Addiction Studies

Addiction Studies
Mary Loos, Ph.D. (VCU)
804-828-8019
E-mail: meloos@vcu.edu

Fall preferred
Anatomy and Neurobiology

Anatomy and Neurobiology
Dr. Raymond J. Colello
804-828-2262
E-mail:rcolello@vcu.edu

Fall preferred

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Dr. Tomasz K. Kordula
804-828-0771
E-mail: biochemgrad@mail1.vcu.edu

Fall preferred

Biostatistics

Biostatistics
Mr. Russ Boyle
804-828-9824
E-mail: rmboyle@vcu.edu

Fall preferred
Biostatistics - Clinical Research and Biostatistics concentration (For professionals holding terminal degrees)

Biostatistics
Mr. Russ Boyle
804-828-9824
E-mail: rmboyle@vcu.edu

Fall preferred
Biostatistics - Genomic Biostatistics

Biostatistics
Mr. Russ Boyle
804-828-9824
E-mail: rmboyle@vcu.edu

Fall preferred
Genetic Counseling
(Master of Genetic Counseling)

Human Genetics
Ms. Rachel Gannaway
804-628-3507
E-mail: rgannaway@vcu.edu

Fall
Human and Molecular Genetics

Human and Molecular Genetics
Dr. Rita Shiang
804-828-9632 ext 124
E-mail: rshiang@vcu.edu

Fall

Molecular Biology and Genetics *

MBG Training
Dr. Gail Christie
804-828-9093
E-mail: christie@hsc.vcu.edu

Fall preferred
Medical Physics

Medical Physics
Geoffrey D. Hugo, Ph.D.
804-628-3457
E-mail: medphysics@vcu.edu

Fall preferred
Microbiology and Immunology

Microbiology and Immunology
Ms. Martha L. VanMeter
804-828-9728
E-mail: mlvanmeter@vcu.edu

Fall preferred
Pharmacology and Toxicology

Pharmacology and Toxicology
Hadmid I. Akbarali, Ph.D.
804-828-8400
E-mail: hiakbarali@vcu.edu

Fall preferred

Physiology and Biophysics

Physiology and Biophysics
Leon Avery, Ph.D.
804-628-2296
E-mail: lavery3@vcu.edu

Fall preferred

Prerequisite

Master of Public Health
(M.P.H. and M.D./M.P.H.)

Epidemiology and Community Health
Lisa S. Anderson, MPH
Director of Educational Programs
804-628-2512
email: lsanders@vcu.edu

Fall (application deadline December 15)

* Interdisciplinary training through programs in multiple departments.

Molecular Biology and Genetics - Anatomy and Neurobiology, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Human Genetics, Microbiology and Immunology, Physiology and Biophysics, and Pharmacology and Toxicology.