Jump to content
School of Medicine Virginia Commonwealth University VCU Medical School

Types of CME Offerings

Grand Rounds

Grand Rounds and other Regularly Scheduled Series (RSSs), such as case conferences, are held according to varying schedules by departments and divisions within the VCU School of Medicine (SOM) and at the McGuire Veterans Affairs Medical Center (VAMC). Each grand rounds activity lasts from one to one-and-a-half hours. The presentation format is lecture, followed by questions and answers. Attendance includes medical practitioners, medical faculty, residents and students. Annually, over 300 grand rounds activities are held, attended by over 7,000 health care professionals.


PLEASE NOTE

Not all RSSs at VCU and the VAMC are designated for AMA category 1 credit. The following listing is for informational purposes only. Please contact the appropriate department/division directly for further information and confirmation of programming. For further general information regarding Grand Rounds and other RSSs, please contact the Grand Rounds & Affiliate Hospital Coordinator by [E-mail]: jrboothb@vcu.edu or by phone at 804-828-5410 or 800-413-2872.

PLEASE NOTE IF YOU ARE A COORDINATOR OF GRAND ROUNDS

Please go to the RSS Coordinator webpage for all policies, procedures and forms necessary for designating AMA credit for your departmental Grand Rounds (click on Forms and Resources for CME Planners).

VCU Medical Center Grand Rounds Schedule
Anesthesiology Thursdays
6:45–7:45 a.m.
Sanger 4-026
Beth Goodloe
E-mail: ehandel@vcu.edu
Phone: (804) 828-0733
Cardiac Catheterization
Conference
Thursdays
8–9 a.m.
Hospital Cafeteria Annex
1st Floor, Main Hospital
Joan Smith
E-mail: josmith@hsc.vcu.edu
Phone: (804) 628-0713
Cardiology Monthly, Tuesdays or Thursdays
6:30 p.m. Reception
7–8 p.m. Lecture
Location/day vary: call for days and times
Joan Smith
E-mail: josmith@hsc.vcu.edu
Phone: (804) 628-0713
Dermatology Wednesdays
1–2 p.m.
Grant House, Room 102
1008 East Clay Street
Sharondia Smith
E-mail: slsmith1@vcu.edu
Phone: (804) 628-3139
Emergency Medicine Wednesdays
7:30–8:30 a.m.
Main Hospital, 1st Floor,
Rooms M1426
Phone: (804) 828-5250
Not currently designated for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™
Gastroenterology Thursdays
5–6 p.m.
Sanger Hall, Room 4-026
Hematology/Oncology Tuesdays
4–6 p.m.
Massey Cancer Center—G122
Karen Scott
E-mail: kgscott@hsc.vcu.edu
Phone: (804) 828-9655
Internal Medicine Thursdays
Noon - 1 p.m.
KMSB Auditorium
Leslie Bobb
Email: lmbobb@vcu.edu
Phone: (804) 828-5453
Website: Medical Grand Rounds
Neurology Thursdays
Noon-1 p.m.
Sanger Hall (location varies)
Jennifer Rew
E-mail: jcheatham@mcvh-vcu.edu
Phone: (804) 828-9583
Neurosurgery Thursdays
7-8 a.m.
Ambulatory Care Center 6th Floor
Pamela Adams
E-mail: padams@mcvh-vcu.edu
Phone: (804) 828-2437
Ophthalmology Wednesdays
4:30–6:30 p.m.
Location varies: call for times
Anna Cerrato
E-mail: acerrato@mcvh-vcu.edu
Phone: (804) 828-5208
Otolaryngology Thursdays
7:30–9:30 a.m.
AD Williams 4th Floor
Stephanie Brown
E-mail: sbrown7@mcvh-vcu.edu
Phone: (804) 828-2766
Website: Otolaryngology Grand Rounds
Pathology

Location/days vary; Visit the website for details: www.pathology.vcu.edu/news/rounds.html
Deidra Trabosh
E-mail: dtrabosh@mcvh-vcu.edu
Phone: (804) 828-0183

Pediatrics Tuesdays
8–9 a.m.
Sanger Hall, Room 1-044
Thasia Lewis
E-mail: tlewis@mcvh-vcu.edu
Phone: (804) 828-9603
Website: www.pediatrics.vcu.edu/grandrounds/index.html
Pediatric Cardiology Fridays
7:30–9:30 a.m.
West Hospital 6th Floor
Charlene Spencer
E-mail: cspencer@mcvh-vcu.edu
Phone: (804) 828-9143
Physical Medicine and
Rehabilitation
Fridays
8–9 a.m.
Sanger 6-032
Wanda Carlton Allen
E-mail: wallen2@mcvh-vcu.edu
Phone: (804) 828-4233
Psychiatry Fridays
11:45 a.m.–12:50 p.m.
Sanger 1-044
Kim Bertram
E-mail: kbertram@vcu.edu
Phone: (804) 828-1453
Website: Psychiatry Grand Rounds
VCU Student Health Alternate Fridays
8:30–9:30 a.m.
Sanger 1-006 or 1300 West Broad Street, Parlor Room,
call Chifawn Taylor for location and dates
E-mail: chtaylo@vcu.edu
Phone: (804) 828-7693
Surgery Thursdays
7-8 a.m.
Sanger Hall, First Floor, Room 1-044
Susan Haynes
E-mail: schaynes@vcu.edu
Phone: (804) 828-1141
Website: Surgery Grand Rounds
Thoracic Residency
Lecture Series
Weekly, Saturdays
7 a.m.
West Hospital, Room 7-314
Rochelle White
E-mail: rwhite2@vcu.edu
Phone: (804) 828-2773
Not currently designated for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™
Transplant Surgery Thursdays
12:30–1:30 p.m.
Medical Science Building
Stephanie Carter
E-mail: scarter2@mcvh-vcu.edu
Phone: (804) 828-9371
Trauma Multi-disciplinary Conference 3rd Tuesday of every month
12:30–1:30 p.m.
Medical Sciences Building
Marsha Booth
E-mail: mbooth2@mcvh-vcu.edu
Phone: (804) 828-5250
Not currently designated for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™
Urology 1st and 3rd Fridays
7:30–8:30 a.m.—Grand Rounds lecture
8:30–9:30 a.m.—Case Conference
MCV Alumni House, 11th and Clay Streets, Room 217
2nd Fridays
7:30–8:30 a.m.—Uropathology Conference
Gateway Building, 6th Floor
4th Fridays
Quality Assurance Conference
MCV Alumni House, 11th and Clay Streets, Room 217
Denny Henson
E-mail: dhenson@mcvh-vcu.edu
Phone: (804) 628-1559
Vascular Surgery Tuesdays
7:15–8:15 a.m.
Main 3-201
Joyce Baskerville-Cotman
E-mail: jbaskerville@vcu.edu
Phone: (804) 828-3211

Updated 06/19/08

McGuire Veterans Affairs Medical Center (VAMC)
Grand Rounds Schedule
Geriatrics Fridays
Noon–1 p.m.
Room 2K-113
Ketana Gresham
E-mail: ketanagresham@med.va.gov
Phone: (804) 675-5084
Internal Medicine/
Medical Grand Rounds
Wednesdays
Noon–1 p.m.
Room 2K-113
Toni Colby
E-mail: Tonnina.Craig@med.va.gov
Phone: (804) 675-5832
Primary Care/ General Medicine 3rd Tuesdays of every month
Noon–1 p.m.
Room 1B-326
Debbie Elder
E-mail: deborah.elder@va.gov
Phone: (804) 675-5427
Spinal Cord Injury Service 2nd and 4th Fridays of every month
11 a.m.-noon
Room 5B-176
Jo Ann Wells
E-mail: Joann.Wells@va.gov
Phone: (804) 675-5427
Women’s Health 2nd Wednesdays of every month
8–9 a.m.
Room 2L-153
Beverly Ross
E-mail: beverly.ross@med.va.gov
Phone: (804) 675-5389
Not currently designated for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™

Updated 03/01/10

Community Hospital Grand Rounds Schedule
St. Mary’s Hospital Pediatrics Tuesdays
9–10 a.m.
St. Mary's Education Center
Christy Schwartz
E-mail: christy_schwartz@bshsi.org
Phone: (804) 281-8222

Updated 03/01/10